Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_7038

It has been over a year and a half since my last post. This site has been sitting on a bookshelf, so to speak, collecting dust. Sitting there while I created lesson plans, graded papers, met with parents, and managed a classroom of 25 fourth graders. Sitting there while my garden withered. No time. But, times change….

For three weeks this summer, I got to spend a lot of time in my school’s immense school garden teaching classes for a summer enrichment program. We planted, weeded, observed, collected soil samples, had bug races, foraged, made tea, pounded flowers and cooked. On the very last day of class I overheard one student say to another, “I think I have eaten more vegetables today than I usually eat in a month.”

This fall I will not be returning to the classroom to teach. I am looking for a new path in education. One, I hope, that will lead me back to the garden.

IMG_6959