Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Swiss chard is just about done in my garden. I may get one more (small) bunch out of my two remaining plants. These are the plants that were planted two summers ago and keep on going. They are slowing down though.

I did however receive two bunches of Swiss chard in a bi-weekly box of produce I receive from eroots.

The finished quiche

This week I made tofu, swiss chard quiche. Do not wrinkle your nose at the tofu part until you have tried this. It is a sensational eggless wonder.

Crust

(taken from a cookbook I no longer own and scrawled onto the paper containing the quiche recipe)

1 ½ cups whole wheat pastry flour

½ tsp salt

½ cup canola oil

3 Tbsp plus 1 ½ tsp ice water

Filling

(slightly adapted from a recipe at www.veganfood.net)

1 medium onion, finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced (or pressed)

1 pound Swiss chard (or spinach) – I used 2 bunches

½ cup soy milk

¼ tsp Dijon mustard

¾ tsp salt

¼ tsp ground nutmeg

½ tsp ground red pepper

Preparation

1. Mix crust ingredients together. Press prepared dough into a pie pan. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degree F.

2. Saute onions in a little oil until soft. Add garlic and vegetable of choice and cook until soft.

3. In a blender or food processor, puree tofu, soy milk, mustard, salt, nutmeg, and pepper until smooth. Pour into large bowl and add vegetable and onion mixture. Combine well.

4. Pour into the pre-cooked pie shell and bake at 400 degrees for 35-40 minutes or until quiche is set and browns a little on top. Allow to sit for 5 minutes before cutting.

Tip: I usually throw the crust together in the morning and do the rest later.